Day 2 of Top Ten Author Matt de la Pena

Matt’s first book is a Movie!!!

‘Lost’s’ Emilie de Ravin beauty is the belle of ‘Ball Don’t Lie’

Wednesday, April 30th 2008

Emilie de Ravin has the sort of résumé that makes struggling actors grind their teeth. She was performing ballet as a teenager in Australia when she decided to give acting a shot. She quickly landed a role in the Australian TV show “Beastmaster,” and the next thing she knew, at the age of 18, she was working in Hollywood.

“It’s kind of a whirlwind,” de Ravin says. “Luckily, I had my mom move out [to Los Angeles] with me for a few months, sort of settled me in. I don’t think I could have done it if I wasn’t working.”

Now de Ravin has graduated to the Tribeca Film Festival, appearing in Brin Hill‘s “Ball Don’t Lie,” which screens today at 3:45 p.m. at the AMC Village VII, with two more showings Saturday (see the full Tribeca schedule here). Her role, as the mom of a teen named Sticky (Grayson Boucher) who finds his life’s purpose in basketball, is shown in flashbacks; she’s a prostitute, and her behavior casts a long shadow over Sticky’s life. Director Hill’s movie is based on a book by Matt de la Peña, who co-wrote the script.

“I think it’s a romantic comedy,” de Ravin says, kidding.

De Ravin is also up to her ears right now in ABC’s mystical desert island drama “Lost.” She plays Claire, who was pregnant when the hit show began with its plane crash, and over the course of the past four seasons she has been drugged, hit on the head, suffered amnesia and seen her baby kidnapped. And she still has two seasons to go.

She has appeared in the critically regarded indie film “Brick” and a remake of the horror flick “The Hills Have Eyes.” In both these films, as in “Ball Don’t Lie,” she plays teenagers, which shows just how young she looks (she’s 26).

Recently de Ravin has moved up to the big leagues with a bit part in Michael Mann‘s “Public Enemies,” playing a bank teller who is captured by John Dillinger‘s gang. Meanwhile, she’s wading through scripts and enduring the limbo that many actors are facing in the wake of the writers’ strike and the uncertainty caused by a possible actors’ strike.

“I really want to explore every genre that I can,” she says. “I don’t want to pigeonhole myself in one character or genre. I want to challenge myself as much as I can.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Book News

Leave a Reply

